Trad. arr. Ray Cooper / Dilwyn Davies / John Jones / Alan Prosser / June Tabor / Ian Telfer
Topic Records Ltd 2011

First released on: Ragged Kingdom, 2011

our captain called all hands, we sail tomorrow
leaving these poor girls behind in grief and sorrow
dry off your briny tears and cease your weeping
how happy we shall be at our next meeting

Iíll roll you in my arms my dearest jewel
so stay at home with me and donít be cruel
what makes you go abroad fighting for strangers
when you could stay at home free from all dangers

when I had gold in store you did invite me
but now Iím low and poor you mean to slight me
she fell down on the floor like one that was dying
this house was filled with grief, crying and sighing

you courted me a while just to deceive me
but now my heart youíve won you mean to leave me
Iíll put no trust in men, not in my own brother
so maids if you would love, love one another

farewell my dearest friends, father and mother
I am your only child, I have no brother
Itís vain to weep for me for I am going
to everlasting joy and fountains flowing